iAudiophile.net Forums


Go Back   iAudiophile.net Forums > Hard Disk Players > iAudio X5 > X5 Rockbox Discussions

Post New Thread  Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-02-2007, 20:09   #211
inf1n1ty172
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 22
Default

Hey everyone. Just got a new computer with Vista on it. When I try to do the part where you patch the bootloader with the firmware in the command prompt with "mkboot -iax5 x5_fw.bin x5-dual-bootloader.bin new_x5_fw.bin" it says

"Cannot open output file.
: Permission denied"

Now I've searched here and couldn't find a solution. Any suggestions? Thanks.
inf1n1ty172 is offline View inf1n1ty172's Photo Album   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

Old 06-03-2007, 11:03   #212
GSV3MiaC
Ancient Cranky Technocrat
 
GSV3MiaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Shropshire, England
Posts: 1,348
Default

Just suggestions (I wouldn't touch Vista with a 10 foot pole at this point) - are you logged on at a high enough admin level, do you own the folder that you are trying to create the file in (can you create the file there manually?) or does the file already exist and you are just not allowed to delete it?

(as a matter of interest, which folder are you doing this in anyway?)
GSV3MiaC is offline View GSV3MiaC's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2007, 15:40   #213
inf1n1ty172
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 22
Default

I'm doing this in the C:/ directory. I'm going to try to do it in another folder.
inf1n1ty172 is offline View inf1n1ty172's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2007, 17:37   #214
inf1n1ty172
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 22
Default

Vista isn't that bad. It is a memory hog but you know eventually it'll take over desktops as Microsoft usually does.

Anyways, I just had to run the command prompt as administrator. Right click on cmd and then "run as administrator." I do really understand what it means since I am on the administrator account so I would assume everything you run would be as administrator.

Thanks.
inf1n1ty172 is offline View inf1n1ty172's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2007, 17:57   #215
GSV3MiaC
Ancient Cranky Technocrat
 
GSV3MiaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Shropshire, England
Posts: 1,348
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by inf1n1ty172 View Post
Vista isn't that bad. It is a memory hog but you know eventually it'll take over desktops as Microsoft usually does.
Not necessarily - WinME didn't do so good in that department. Users still have a vote.


Quote:
Originally Posted by inf1n1ty172 View Post
Anyways, I just had to run the command prompt as administrator. Right click on cmd and then "run as administrator." I do really understand what it means since I am on the administrator account so I would assume everything you run would be as administrator.
You'd think so, but I'm not sure how VISTA plays it, or whether it has some special phobia about the root folder of a drive.
GSV3MiaC is offline View GSV3MiaC's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2007, 04:01   #216
Zack
once PJB100 User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 9
Default

Hi, time went on since the first post, I'm new to the iaudio X5 and I just want to ask who I can dual boot. On the rockbox site I read that dual boot isn't implemented yet.

Can you just give me some info?

thanks!
Zack is offline View Zack's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 10:56   #217
Zack
once PJB100 User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Germany
Posts: 9
Default

http://www.iaudiophile.net/forums/sh...ad.php?t=12671
Zack is offline View Zack's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2007, 18:40   #218
BassHead
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 70
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GSV3MiaC View Post
Not necessarily - WinME didn't do so good in that department. Users still have a vote.
That was mostly due to Microsoft's own decisions. Windows ME was released with a couple of new features that were in development for XP, but mainly, the company needed some incremental revenue at the time. ME had the shortest lifecycle of all the Windows operating systems, a year later Windows XP came out, and so most people never even had a chance to buy an ME computer. It wasn't so much users denying ME, as it was XP came right on the heels of ME and was the first time that Microsoft moved the consumer operating system SKU onto the far better NT code base.
__________________
Ignore List: afruff23
BassHead is offline View BassHead's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2007, 16:31   #219
GSV3MiaC
Ancient Cranky Technocrat
 
GSV3MiaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Shropshire, England
Posts: 1,348
Default

Trust me, lots of us users had a chance to buy WinME, and bought Win2k instead (or indeed even something else).
GSV3MiaC is offline View GSV3MiaC's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 09:46   #220
dfkt
 
 
dfkt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 2,975
Default

Sorry for the bump, but I think this is the correct thread to continue.

I've been dualbooting Rockbox and the original FW forever with the same old dual-bootloader (I assume it's v2 from 2006). My configuration is the one where you slide the power switch for the original firmware and hold the record button while sliding to boot Rockbox (link). I like that way a lot more than the short/long slide variant.

Now I've seen that there's a v4 bootloader on the Rockbox site, from March 2008. Is there a precompiled dual-bootloader which uses v4 instead of v2? I think RaeNye's or Webmeister's apps are both using v2 bootloaders, is this correct? Are there any updates?
dfkt is offline View dfkt's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2008, 16:10   #221
Llorean
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 67
Default

DevCon is in less than two weeks. While there I intend to attempt to get a new official bootloader release for most/all targets.

One of my goals for the X5/M5 release will be one with working dual boot. I believe there's an acceptable patch for this in the tracker now. So if you can wait a couple weeks, there's a good chance we can offer you a solution that means you don't need to be using unsupported code.

Since the bootloader is especially important (it handles hardware initialization) an out of date bootloader can sometimes lock you out of all future builds (this is rare, but has happened a few times with various targets) until you update it. As well, we don't provide support for unofficial bootloaders, since they've been known to cause strange problems.
Llorean is offline View Llorean's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2008, 18:22   #222
hweb21
Web User
 
hweb21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 506
Default

Kool, thanks Llorean! Good to hear
hweb21 is offline View hweb21's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2008, 06:36   #223
dfkt
 
 
dfkt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Vienna, Austria
Posts: 2,975
Default

That sounds great - thanks Llorean!

I'd be particularly interested in a working dual bootloader because I just got a remote for the X5, and it doesn't work well with the old v2 bootloader (which is a known issue).
dfkt is offline View dfkt's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2008, 16:01   #224
CraigS63
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Default

My X5 had dual boot working for quite a while, but within the last week or so, I can only get Rockbox to boot. Now, flicking the power on briefly (used to bring up Rockbox) shows a 'Shutting down...' message (this is on the top line of the screen, not in a centered box like the 'Shutting down...' message when I power off from Rockbox). Holding the power on longer brings up Rockbox (this used to bring up the Cowon software).
Should I wait for the new dual boot code? Or is this an easily fixed problem (admittedly I use Rockbox about 75% over the Cowon original software so no big emergency).

Last edited by CraigS63; 07-08-2008 at 21:29..
CraigS63 is offline View CraigS63's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2008, 18:51   #225
ka7al1s7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 26
Default

any updates regarding the dual boot? i'm still using v2 and would love to upgrade to v4.
ka7al1s7 is offline View ka7al1s7's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 19:31.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.


Copyright © 2006-2014 CrowdGather |  About iAudiophile |  Advertisers | Investors | Legal | Contact