iAudiophile.net Forums


Go Back   iAudiophile.net Forums > Hard Disk Players > Cowon A2

Post New Thread  Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-06-2006, 15:46   #1
Gators300
Bad Bizatch
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 53
Default Replace HD in A2?

Has anyone tried replacing their 30gb with a 60gb HD and loaded the OS on it? Given the (apparent) relative ease of opening the case and removing/replacing the HD, I think that this could quite possibly work. The risk is minimal considering you can always just put the 30gb HD right back in. If anyone has done this, or knows someone who has, what were the results? Thanks in advance.

Chris
Gators300 is offline View Gators300's Photo Album   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

Old 02-06-2006, 21:05   #2
egaille
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 34
Default

Nice to read someone searching for the same thing.
I'm also interested in replacing my 20Gb drive by a bigger one, but i've seen somewhere that 40-60Gb drives (with two plates of 20 or 30Gb) are thicker (about 3 mm?)

Someone (tipsytc) on the forum dismantled his A2 to clean it.

Just look here:
http://www.iaudiophile.net/forums/showthread.php?t=7309

The photos of the opened Cowon are here:
http://photobucket.com/albums/e265/t...t=IMG_2031.jpg

as we don't really see any interesting informations on the photos, he says that putting a 60gb in the Cowon should be possible, by removing some rubber...

Here is what he says:
" While it was apart i measured the space inside the A2 to see if the 60GB drive would fit in. The 60GB drive is only 3mm thicker than the 30G drive, and if you were happy to remove the rubber cover around the current drive a 60GB would fit the A2. The battery has a thin rubber matt stuck to it that would now support the 60GB drive and stop it moving around. "

see ya.
egaille is offline View egaille's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2006, 02:14   #3
taxxon
Senior Member
 
taxxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 272
Send a message via Yahoo to taxxon
Default

nice pics, just not bold enough to carry out this "risky" experiment
__________________
Computer: Dell Inspiron E1520 with personalized Dream Theater skin
Cellphone: Iphone 3G
PMP: Cowon S9 16GB
Guitar gears: Jackson DK1 Bengal Tiger, Jackson KE3 skulls, Randall V2 head with 2x12 cab, Vox Tonelab ST
Camera: Canon Powershot SD700
taxxon is offline View taxxon's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2006, 13:25   #4
tipsytc
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Norfolk, England
Posts: 22
Default

I was the one who stripped down my A2 to clean the dust from the screen. I'm a computer engineer by trade and happy to try this out and let everybody know how it goes but I don't want to pay the UK price for a Toshiba MK6006GAL 60GB hard drive. does any body know where I can get one cheap or good working order used one to try this out.
tipsytc is offline View tipsytc's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2006, 18:59   #5
egaille
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 34
Default

tipsytc > There are several different 60gb hard-drives from Toshiba. MK6006GAH, MK6006GAL... etc

Do you know the exact differences between them. Would 1.8" drives from Hitachi fit in it ?
egaille is offline View egaille's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2006, 20:53   #6
Gators300
Bad Bizatch
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 53
Default 60GB HD Fund!

tipsytc, I would send you some money over PayPal to help pay for one of these drives. If others would chip in we could find out once and for all about a 60GB A2! How much is one of those going for over there? I'm prepared to donate about $20-30, so if others will, (and we are trusting you!) this could be a well documented and hopefully fruitful expiriment. Let me know what you all think.
Gators300 is offline View Gators300's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2006, 01:54   #7
taxxon
Senior Member
 
taxxon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 272
Send a message via Yahoo to taxxon
Default

let's create a topic where we could donate money for our non-cowon-corporation experiment
__________________
Computer: Dell Inspiron E1520 with personalized Dream Theater skin
Cellphone: Iphone 3G
PMP: Cowon S9 16GB
Guitar gears: Jackson DK1 Bengal Tiger, Jackson KE3 skulls, Randall V2 head with 2x12 cab, Vox Tonelab ST
Camera: Canon Powershot SD700
taxxon is offline View taxxon's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2006, 07:17   #8
Gators300
Bad Bizatch
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 53
Default Sure...

taxxon, if tipsytc is up to it, then I say we go for it. Surely others on here would be interested in doubling the capacity of their A2, albeit under a voided warranty, but hey, tipsytc already voided his, and he would be the one to first try it. Like I said, I'm ready to donate!

Chris
Gators300 is offline View Gators300's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2006, 12:39   #9
tipsytc
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Norfolk, England
Posts: 22
Default

Hi all the drive required is MK6006GAL I have already checked out the spec's for it.

The 60GB Fund is a good idea I’m very happy to experiment on my A2 on behalf of fellow A2 owners. If any would like to contribute towards a drive my PAYPAL details are simon.roffey@ukonline.co.uk

Any body contributing will get a special mention and first hand help to upgrade their A2 should it work as planned.
tipsytc is offline View tipsytc's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2006, 13:31   #10
tipsytc
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Norfolk, England
Posts: 22
Default

Many thanks Gators300 you are the first to donate towards the 60GB fund, its very much apreciated.

Side Note
Please note that I will inform the group when the funds are enough to purchase a drive at UK prices. I do not intend to make a profit and will refund donators if the target is not reached or if too much is donated.
tipsytc is offline View tipsytc's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2006, 13:57   #11
Gators300
Bad Bizatch
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 53
Default A separate thread

If you haven't noticed, I started a separate thread about this. I am hoping all will post their donations on there. Add anything else on the thread that I may have forgotten to add.

Chris
Gators300 is offline View Gators300's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2006, 00:56   #12
bloodycape
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 109
Default

How far is the progress of this?
bloodycape is offline View bloodycape's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2006, 05:03   #13
pilsnernils
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 10
Default Is it possible to upgrade harddrive

Hi, I just bought my A2 yesterday and I'm impressed. However, is it possible to exchange the 20GB harddrive that comes witht he A2? I have a 1.8" 80GB harddrive which I'd much rather use. Would it be enough to format the 80GB harddrive to FAT32 file system, load the firmware update from iAUDIO, plug it in the player, and start up by installing the new firmware?

Cheers
pilsnernils is offline View pilsnernils's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2006, 05:25   #14
Raygen
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 91
Default

forum search is your friend. Short answer, no-one knows yet.
Raygen is offline View Raygen's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2006, 05:29   #15
pilsnernils
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 10
Default sorry

ooops, thought I had read through every topic. Sorry for this.
pilsnernils is offline View pilsnernils's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.


Copyright © 2006-2014 CrowdGather |  About iAudiophile |  Advertisers | Investors | Legal | Contact