iAudiophile.net Forums


Go Back   iAudiophile.net Forums > Flash-Memory Players > Cowon S9 > S9 Troubles & Problems

Post New Thread  Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-23-2009, 05:43   #16
Acreo Aeneas
Technology Enthusiast
 
Acreo Aeneas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 429
Default

Is the volume limiter in place because the EU has some sort of law that electronic devices that produce sound can't go above a certain dB level to protect listeners' ears?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neal
i have tried this and the volume is still capped at 40....i picked english, non - european union & usa for radio settings..

am i doing something wrong?
The max volume on the S9 is 40. Miss Ria's tutorial is to remove the volume limiter which is imposed at volume 30 if you selected "Europe" as your region. Selecting other regions doesn't mean the volume will go louder than 40 since the max is 40. This just guarantees that the volume rises from 30 to 40 instead of staying the same.

If you need the volume louder than 40, I suggest a portable headphone amplifier (like the Fiio from Head Direct).
__________________
PMPs: D2, S9, Ainol V9000HDG
DAPs:
Clip+
Phones:
Sennheiser HD201, UE SF3, Phillips SHL9500
Amps:
Fiio E3

For Sale: Cowon D2 (4 GB)
Projects: AA UI (on hold)

Last edited by Acreo Aeneas; 07-23-2009 at 05:46..
Acreo Aeneas is offline View Acreo Aeneas's Photo Album   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

Old 08-12-2009, 13:44   #17
megabika
Cowon Fanboy
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Miss Ria View Post
Playing with my pretty, pretty pmp! Yes, the S9 - I am very pleased to report is fabulous. But it has a volume problem I have now solved!

Is the Volume Limited on the S9?

Yes, if you think the volume on your S9 is too low, even at 40, you are correct and have not gone insane. I listened, and felt it was too low on my little device. I noticed that it didn't seem to grow audibly louder above 30 even though the numbers ticked upwards.

So. Why is this? Well the S9 has a volume limiter which immediately switches on (only) if you set Europe as the region of your player when you set your player up. if you choose "Other" instead of Europe, the Volume Limit is lifted and you have the full power of the S9!

What do I do if I have already chosen Europe?

Well, thanks to my investigations I have found there is a solution. Pressing reset will not work.

Instead, open your S9 system folder, and simply delete the "PARAM" file. Power off. Power up. (There is no need to change firmware at all).

You are back at the original screen. 1. Choose your language. 2. Next DO NOT CHOOSE THE EUROPE setting. 3. Third, choose your radio setting - any will do.

Done.

Enjoy a fresh S9 with no Volume Limitations!!

I see also that this is a problem on the O2.

http://www.iaudiophile.net/forums/sh...ad.php?t=25025

I suggest people try the same with the O2 because this is probably the same issue. I do not have one so can someone try and let everyone else know?

xx R
Thanks very much for that, just got my S9 and thought the volume was a little low for some of my quieter mp3s. Problem solved.
Anyhow, I don't like to be told by Europrats how loud my music has to be.
Cheers,
Roy.
megabika is offline View megabika's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 13:49   #18
Don't Panic
Senile Im-poster
 
Don't Panic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 727
Default

What did you say ^can't hear you...
__________________
Cowon S9 Iphone 3GS
*music ....................*Games (monkey Island, Myst)
*video ....................*SMS/MMS
*radio ....................*WiFI/3G internet


^shut up, it works for me


I will NEVER ask for donations. PLEASE do NOT send any money to me.
Don't Panic is offline View Don't Panic's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 13:58   #19
megabika
Cowon Fanboy
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 18
Default

Wow, 40 hurts now! Will prob never use it but nice to know it's there.
__________________
Cowon S9 16GB + Sony MDR-EX500LP's, 2.41 firmware. Claw UI.


Before you criticise a man, walk a mile in his shoes. Then, when you do criticise him, you're a mile away and you have his shoes.
megabika is offline View megabika's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Thanks from:
Old 08-12-2009, 14:12   #20
Restless101
Bleighton is weirdly addicting.
 
Restless101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 138
Default

So this is completely safe? It doesn't delete any of your data on the s9?
__________________
I use the Cowon S9. Some people at school think it's a bootleg of the iPod touch. Some people think that the Koreans are flippin' awesome for making this thing.
Restless101 is offline View Restless101's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 15:09   #21
megabika
Cowon Fanboy
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 18
Default

Let 'em think what they want, you know you made the right choice for you.

No, everything stays fine, all that changes is the volume and it goes mental....

Ipod's are nice toys for messing about, the S9 is the real thing for music and video.
__________________
Cowon S9 16GB + Sony MDR-EX500LP's, 2.41 firmware. Claw UI.


Before you criticise a man, walk a mile in his shoes. Then, when you do criticise him, you're a mile away and you have his shoes.
megabika is offline View megabika's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2009, 10:11   #22
broesi
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
Default

Miss RIA I Love ya!!thx so mutch
broesi is offline View broesi's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2009, 16:16   #23
druntel88
Member
 
druntel88's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 130
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Restless101 View Post
So this is completely safe? It doesn't delete any of your data on the s9?
Only Settings will be reseted.
__________________
Meizu M6 + OMX 50 VC / AKG 420 / 450
Cowon S9 + FiiO E5 + ?
druntel88 is offline View druntel88's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2009, 09:01   #24
Nerox
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Liège (Beligum)
Posts: 55
Send a message via Skype™ to Nerox
Default

My Cowon.. is weird , he don't want to show me the " first boot screen( with language ) so.. i'm in korean and don't know how to change .

When i delete config.cfg . nothing happened O.o


EDiT : I just forgot .. where can i change the language . but,now ; it's ok : )

Last edited by Nerox; 08-15-2009 at 09:06..
Nerox is offline View Nerox's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2010, 07:21   #25
ilfirin
Genkakuzai
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks a lot, this shit was driving me nuts, was starting to think that my S9 was giving up on me. Problem solved! Cheers!
ilfirin is offline View ilfirin's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 09:35   #26
DougJames
DougJames
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Lancashire, UK
Posts: 1
Default

I too had problem with volume level on S9 when connecting to audio system.
Misss Ria's solution simple and effective. Many thanks.
Why the hell does the EU have to interfere in such matters as limiting volume on mp3 equipment ? Next, they'll be legislating to restrict how many breaths we can take a day !
DougJames is offline View DougJames's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 05:14   #27
howdo
Member
 
howdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 60
Default

Thanks a lot, sorted a problem out for a friend who had bought a used S9
howdo is offline View howdo's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2010, 04:04   #28
MerleOne
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 23
Default

I suspect, but have no proof of, that the limiter might distort the sound somehow, even at lower volume. So I have lifted the restriction, even if I will only use it at low levels.
MerleOne is offline View MerleOne's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 15:07   #29
shadowmaster
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 3
Default

thanks.... I have a Sennheiser HD448 headphone (closed system) having 32 ohm which is not loud enough with the "european" settings.... because most mp3 manufacturers mostly don't do a "clever" limitation. Now it's fixed. I know that the ipod touch has an app which really goes to the electrical limits which can destroy the in-ear phones.

By the way, there is a nice tool "mp3gain" to make MP3 files louder because the volume information is stored separately in mp3 files.

Recently I have purchased some MP3 files from Amazon and some of them had a max level of -12 db which can be easily corrected with mp3gain.

Last edited by shadowmaster; 07-01-2010 at 15:11..
shadowmaster is offline View shadowmaster's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2010, 12:47   #30
LeoX
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1
Default

Well, if i'm listening with my headphones (some sennheiser, closed system) for most songs it is enough if i set the volume between 7 and 12 or so....^^well, but they were really expensive, so no wonder, they're very good and effective
but nevertheless i wanna thank you very much miss ria, because if i'm listening with external speakers, e.g. outside, it is often not loud enough. and therefore, i think your trick is amazing!!!
LeoX is offline View LeoX's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:40.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.


Copyright © 2006-2014 CrowdGather |  About iAudiophile |  Advertisers | Investors | Legal | Contact