iAudiophile.net Forums


Go Back   iAudiophile.net Forums > Flash-Memory Players > Cowon S9 > S9 Troubles & Problems

Post New Thread  Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-17-2009, 15:44   #1
Miss Ria
The Tech Girl!
 
Miss Ria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Paris
Posts: 18
Big Grin How to lift Volume Limiter on S9 - Miss Ria reports!

Playing with my pretty, pretty pmp! Yes, the S9 - I am very pleased to report is fabulous. But it has a volume problem I have now solved!

Is the Volume Limited on the S9?

Yes, if you think the volume on your S9 is too low, even at 40, you are correct and have not gone insane. I listened, and felt it was too low on my little device. I noticed that it didn't seem to grow audibly louder above 30 even though the numbers ticked upwards.

So. Why is this? Well the S9 has a volume limiter which immediately switches on (only) if you set Europe as the region of your player when you set your player up. if you choose "Other" instead of Europe, the Volume Limit is lifted and you have the full power of the S9!

What do I do if I have already chosen Europe?

Well, thanks to my investigations I have found there is a solution. Pressing reset will not work.

Instead, open your S9 system folder, and simply delete the "PARAM" file. Power off. Power up. (There is no need to change firmware at all).

You are back at the original screen. 1. Choose your language. 2. Next DO NOT CHOOSE THE EUROPE setting. 3. Third, choose your radio setting - any will do.

Done.

Enjoy a fresh S9 with no Volume Limitations!!

I see also that this is a problem on the O2.

http://www.iaudiophile.net/forums/sh...ad.php?t=25025

I suggest people try the same with the O2 because this is probably the same issue. I do not have one so can someone try and let everyone else know?

xx R
__________________
Sansa Clip, Cowon S9, Grado SR80, Sony e888, Koss PortaPro, Creative Sports earphones
Miss Ria is offline View Miss Ria's Photo Album   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

Old 01-17-2009, 19:01   #2
DaremoS
Senior Member
 
DaremoS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Santiago, CHILE
Posts: 887
Default

(5) Hmmm...who is my next Pmp? O2 or S9? A vacancy exists in my skinny jeans...

This statement is number 6 Miss Ria...
__________________
I do not agree with what you have to say, but I'll defend to the death your right to say it. ---- Voltaire, the guy who sells newspapers
DaremoS is offline View DaremoS's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2009, 19:28   #3
ilh
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 198
Default

Do you actually need to go so high? 15 is enough for me in busy places.
ilh is offline View ilh's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 04:54   #4
xxmarkosxx
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 91
Default

Miss Ria, you're absolutely amazing.I don't know how to thank you....This trick worked perfectly with me..thank you again
xxmarkosxx is offline View xxmarkosxx's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 09:31   #5
XXL-Music
Senior Member
 
XXL-Music's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Bleiswijk, Netherlands
Posts: 327
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilh View Post
Do you actually need to go so high? 15 is enough for me in busy places.
Yeah, I never went higher than 15 or so. Over 40 is just killing your ears IMO
__________________
Current: Cowon S9 16 GB + Klipsch Image S4 + X-mini Max
Previously: Creative Zen Micro 6GB + Sennheiser CX300
XXL-Music is offline View XXL-Music's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 22:20   #6
da1writer
Ya'll can call me da1 if ya like ;)!
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 1,319
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XXL-Music View Post
Yeah, I never went higher than 15 or so. Over 40 is just killing your ears IMO
Going over 15 is probably due to people wanting to use it in their car or Home theater equipment without upping/maxing out the outside sources (instead the S9). I set my D2 to MAX volume (50) when I'm in my vehicle (audio jack), so I don't raise my volume in my car that high...
da1writer is offline View da1writer's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2009, 08:10   #7
TackyTiger
Member
 
TackyTiger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 141
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by XXL-Music View Post
Yeah, I never went higher than 15 or so. Over 40 is just killing your ears IMO
Surely this depends on the impedance of your headphones. I need to crank the volume far higher (for the same relative volume) when using my 70 ohm HD-25's than my 32 ohm PX-100's...
TackyTiger is offline View TackyTiger's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 14:39   #8
PowerTorsk
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 146
Default

Well... this prooves my habit to work. I never set any settings to "Europe" on anything I own. It just gives you limitations and late firmware updates. I wonder what we Europeans did to deserve that...

I have the S9, btw, and I need to turn the volume far above 15 with my gear. I like how the audio doesn't sound week on big cans, like on the Sansa Clip. Even though the sound on the Clip arguably is slightly better sounding, it isn't for bigger cans.
PowerTorsk is offline View PowerTorsk's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 16:43   #9
Miss Ria
The Tech Girl!
 
Miss Ria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Paris
Posts: 18
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xxmarkosxx View Post
Miss Ria, you're absolutely amazing.I don't know how to thank you....This trick worked perfectly with me..thank you again
Yay!! That's fab. I think the problem depends on headphones too. My Grado headphones require higher volume, so do my Koss PortaPro.

My Sony e888 are fine with the volume limiter on.

So all in all I think if anyone has any volume problem with the S9, they know what to do!
__________________
Sansa Clip, Cowon S9, Grado SR80, Sony e888, Koss PortaPro, Creative Sports earphones
Miss Ria is offline View Miss Ria's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 13:29   #10
PowerTorsk
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 146
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Miss Ria View Post
Yay!! That's fab. I think the problem depends on headphones too. My Grado headphones require higher volume, so do my Koss PortaPro.

My Sony e888 are fine with the volume limiter on.

So all in all I think if anyone has any volume problem with the S9, they know what to do!
You should go for some some better headphones than those if you own an S9. The S9 has EXTREME audio performance, and it is fully capable to power big cans. I use Creative Aurvana X-Fi, and they really pair well with the player. If you can afford Cowon, you can afford some high-end gear, right?
PowerTorsk is offline View PowerTorsk's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2009, 14:57   #11
pseudohippy
Senior Member
 
pseudohippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Kent, Washington USA
Posts: 269
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PowerTorsk View Post
You should go for some some better headphones than those if you own an S9. The S9 has EXTREME audio performance, and it is fully capable to power big cans. I use Creative Aurvana X-Fi, and they really pair well with the player. If you can afford Cowon, you can afford some high-end gear, right?
The Grados are fantastic headphones depending on your sound sig preferance and the koss porta pro are some of the best budget headphones out there. I dont think the poster had poor headphones at all.
__________________
Full Size Headphones: ATH M50s, Alessandro MS2 Fatboy
IEM: Shure SE530 (Fisher Custom), TripleFi 10, Sleek SA6 with W-1 Kleer Wireless, Creative EP630.
Amps: Meier Audio 3Move, Fiio E3
Players: Cowon S9, Cowon D2, Samsung P3, Sansa E260
Gaming: A40 + Mixamp with Xbox 360 GT: pseudohippy
Sold or given away list is way to long but I do miss my Raptor>HD650 combo an awful lot lol
pseudohippy is offline View pseudohippy's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 13:30   #12
Aleq
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: CZ, EU
Posts: 3
Default



That's amazing. Thank you, you're my saviour. I need higher volume for airplane and also my Shure SE530 make hiss, so I'm using oncable volume control to lower the volume a bit.
Aleq is offline View Aleq's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2009, 18:20   #13
rinzwind
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 177
Default

Miss_Ria: thank you thank you thank you
Are you on a pedestal yet?
Excellent find
rinzwind is offline View rinzwind's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 07:45   #14
neal
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Default

i have tried this and the volume is still capped at 40....i picked english, non - european union & usa for radio settings..

am i doing something wrong?
neal is offline View neal's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2009, 07:51   #15
neal
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Default

wow its a lot louder at 40 now! not that it will ever need to be that loud!!
neal is offline View neal's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 18:50.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.


Copyright © 2006-2014 CrowdGather |  About iAudiophile |  Advertisers | Investors | Legal | Contact