iAudiophile.net Forums

Go Back   iAudiophile.net Forums > Hard Disk Players > iAudio X5 > X5 Rockbox Discussions

Post New Thread  Reply

Old 01-17-2007, 10:19   #1
dvsche73

Default Total NOOB's Guide to X5 Rockbox written by a NOOB

IF YOU ARE USING THIS GUIDE, PLEASE READ CAREFULLY AND THOROUGHLY! SOBRIETY IS HIGHLY RECOMMENDED SHOULD YOU WISH TO USE THIS GUIDE

Hello. While there are ROCKBOX help threads on this forum they can be a little bit confusing, especially for people like me, as they the language used can sometimes go over my head. Furthermore, it the stuck threads for people new to rockbox are a bit confusing and cluttered.

So I decided to write this basic guide for noobs because I am one. This guide is for the person who is rockbox curious but feels overwhelmed (like i did), although this guide expects you to have a little computer knowledge.
NOTE: This guide is for the X5 and for a Windows based computer

IMPORTANT: ROCKBOX WILL PROBABLY VOID YOUR WARRENTY SO USE AT YOUR OWN RISK!

Also, whenever the instructions say to connect the X5 to the computer, it means through the subpack not the USB host port.

Rockbox now supports WMA files. So now you can use all those files that you mistakenly converted to WMA using Windows Media player. (If you think I don't like WMA...well...your right.)

Without further ado, let's get started!

Step 1 - Getting Dualboot on the X5 - This is a big step.

I took these instructions from afruff23's thread on this forum. Here they are. There are a few things that I cleared up, which I note. I also numbered his instructions as they were asterixed (don't know if that is grammatically correct) before.

Here it is:

PLEASE READ. THE COMMAND PROMPT SECTION HAS BEEN CLARIFIED GREATLY.

Rockbox instructions do not allow you to dual-boot (use the original Cowon firmware) without reinstalling it, while the iAudiophile instructions (in the following text) allow you to dual-boot.