iAudiophile.net Forums


Go Back   iAudiophile.net Forums > Flash-Memory Players > Cowon C2

Post New Thread  Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-27-2012, 13:20   #1
jpgr
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 193
Default 64GB microSD card works with C2

SanDisk 64GB Mobile Ultra MicroSDXC Memory Card with SD Adapter
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B...7GK8ENYYWEVHR9

guiformat.exe
http://www.ridgecrop.demon.co.uk/ind...?guiformat.htm

os: windows 7

load microsd card into adaptor and plug into laptop
format as fat32 with guiformat.exe - reported as 64gb

insert into c2
windows sees it as 32gb

so i re formatted as fat32 whilst in c2
then put it back into the adapter and reformatted as fat32 windows sees it as 64gb (59.4)

re inserted it into the c2 and connected it and windows now saw the full size 59.4.

related forum posts:
http://anythingbutipod.com/forum/sho...57&postcount=8
http://iaudiophile.net/forums/showthread.php?t=40028
jpgr is offline View jpgr's Photo Album   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

Old 02-27-2012, 16:06   #2
math6837
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 7
Default

Thx for sharing !!
math6837 is offline View math6837's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2012, 11:29   #3
DSperber
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA
Posts: 1,016
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpgr View Post
SanDisk 64GB Mobile Ultra MicroSDXC Memory Card with SD Adapter
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B...7GK8ENYYWEVHR9

guiformat.exe
http://www.ridgecrop.demon.co.uk/ind...?guiformat.htm

os: windows 7

load microsd card into adaptor and plug into laptop
format as fat32 with guiformat.exe - reported as 64gb
Same results here, so far.


Quote:
insert into c2
windows sees it as 32gb
Me too, with J3.

But Windows didn't see that it was formatted as FAT32 (which had been done earlier by GUIFormat when the card was in the reader. It asked me if I wanted to format, and the lower panel from DISKMGMT.MSC showed it as 32GB "raw".


Quote:
so i re formatted as fat32 whilst in c2
Did you use GUIFormat again, while the card was still in the C2? Or did you use Windows' own FORMAT?

If you used GUIFormat through the C2, you had no fear using it with the 64GB card in the C2? I didn't want to take a chance perhaps doing some damage to the card if the J3 is unprepared for a 64GB card. But, if you did it, maybe I should too.


Quote:
then put it back into the adapter and reformatted as fat32
Presumably you again used GUIFormat, with the card now back in the reader.


Quote:
windows sees it as 64gb (59.4)
Yes, presumably it would again (as it did originally) since the reader is being used again.


Quote:
re inserted it into the c2 and connected it and windows now saw the full size 59.4.
I have absolutely no idea why this should be the case.

The card is last formatted exactly as it was originally, by GUIFormat in the reader. So why should this second format, following a format while still in the J3 which followed the original format while in the reader... why should this have any different results as far as how Windows now sees the card when it's back in your C2?

This certainly doesn't make scientific sense to me, although you clearly state that there WAS a difference in how Windows saw the card the second time vs. how it saw the card the first time. The fact that there was an intervening format with the card in the C2 seems irrelevant, as you then did a third format with the card back in the reader. What possible effect could that second format in the C2 have to make the third format in the reader any different than the first format in the reader??

I suppose I could try it again, following your steps exactly. But again, my first Windows view showed it as 32GB "raw" and not 32GB FAT32. Was this what you saw?

I'm a skeptic, but I'm willing to be a believer. I'd sure like to be able to have it possible to just connect the J3 to the PC and always be able to maintain both internal and external storage as I did when I had a 32GB external card. This is certainly more convenient than having to remove the card and put it in the reader in order to maintain it, so my fingers are crossed that somehow this odd "recipe" for overcoming the initial symptom will truly work on my J3.

I'll give it a try. Nothing to lose, I suppose, as long as running GUIFormat again with the card in the J3 doesn't do any damage. It's just a few seconds. And then remove the card, put it back in the reader, and run GUIFormat yet again. And then remove the card, put it back in the J3 and magically it's now supposed to be perfectly acceptable FAT32 64GB... even though it wasn't seen that way after the first format. Powerful stuff, if it really works.
DSperber is offline View DSperber's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 06:43   #4
Marxzone
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpgr View Post
SanDisk 64GB Mobile Ultra MicroSDXC Memory Card with SD Adapter
http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B...7GK8ENYYWEVHR9

guiformat.exe
http://www.ridgecrop.demon.co.uk/ind...?guiformat.htm

os: windows 7

load microsd card into adaptor and plug into laptop
format as fat32 with guiformat.exe - reported as 64gb

insert into c2
windows sees it as 32gb

so i re formatted as fat32 whilst in c2
then put it back into the adapter and reformatted as fat32 windows sees it as 64gb (59.4)

re inserted it into the c2 and connected link this and windows now saw the full size 59.4.

related forum posts:
http://anythingbutipod.com/forum/sho...57&postcount=8
http://iaudiophile.net/forums/showthread.php?t=40028
Thanks for posting this so much!

Last edited by Marxzone; 09-07-2012 at 06:17..
Marxzone is offline View Marxzone's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 04:46   #5
IvanTea
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 8
Default

which allocation size should be be best?
IvanTea is offline View IvanTea's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2012, 11:31   #6
DSperber
Very Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA
Posts: 1,016
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by IvanTea View Post
which allocation size should be be best?
Just run GUIFormat and leave its defaults.
DSperber is offline View DSperber's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:16.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.


Copyright © 2006-2014 CrowdGather |  About iAudiophile |  Advertisers | Investors | Legal | Contact