iAudiophile.net Forums


Go Back   iAudiophile.net Forums > Flash-Memory Players > Cowon D2/D2+ > D2 DAB/DMB

Post New Thread  Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-04-2011, 05:19   #1
michael1946
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: near Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 328
Thumb Up National DAB+ radio on-air in Germany (01-08-2011)

Have a look at http://www.worlddab.org/country_information/germany!
michael1946 is offline View michael1946's Photo Album   Reply With Quote

Advertisement [Remove Advertisement]

Old 08-04-2011, 10:21   #2
Wrzlbrnft
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 6
Default

Unfortunately the D2 DAB isn't able to receive the new 5A / 5C ensemble. When I took a scan the bar first freezed for a few seconds, but then continued without saving the new stations. I tried it in several German cities (Stuttgart, Leipzig, Düsseldorf) with firmware 4.60b.

I really hope that there will be soon a firmware update as I never had any problems to receive other DAB+ ensembles for example in Switzerland or Belgium.
Wrzlbrnft is offline View Wrzlbrnft's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 13:47   #3
michael1946
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: near Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 328
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wrzlbrnft View Post
Unfortunately the D2 DAB isn't able to receive the new 5A / 5C ensemble. When I took a scan the bar first freezed for a few seconds, but then continued without saving the new stations. I tried it in several German cities (Stuttgart, Leipzig, Düsseldorf) with firmware 4.60b.

I really hope that there will be soon a firmware update as I never had any problems to receive other DAB+ ensembles for example in Switzerland or Belgium.
What about switching to FW D2+ DAB 4.13? The switch worked without problems on my D2 DAB!?
michael1946 is offline View michael1946's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 14:52   #4
Wrzlbrnft
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by michael1946 View Post
What about switching to FW D2+ DAB 4.13? The switch worked without problems on my D2 DAB!?
Oh! I never noticed that the D2+ firmware also works on a D2. I'll give it a try!

Edit: I'm a little bit unsure. Which files do I have to download to get the 4.13 FW correctly installed on my D2? I have Rockbox on my device so there should be a possibility for installing without tcctool, isn't it? (I already worked with tcctool, but I remember it was very complicated ) The instructions only seem to contain informations for 2.01 and 2.59...

Last edited by Wrzlbrnft; 08-04-2011 at 16:03..
Wrzlbrnft is offline View Wrzlbrnft's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 16:12   #5
michael1946
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: near Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 328
Default

I went the long and winding tcctool way successfully last autumn. There is an alternative for migrating from D2 FW to D2+ FW, have a look at http://iaudiophile.net/forums/showpo...11&postcount=7.
Even if Petuh21 still has problems going this way, I don't think there is a principal problem in crashdebugs described way.
I think this way should work with according modifications for migrating from D2 DAB FW to D2+ DAB FW.

Last edited by michael1946; 08-04-2011 at 16:55..
michael1946 is offline View michael1946's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2011, 18:10   #6
Wrzlbrnft
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 6
Default

Okay, I also took the tcctool way. Now 4.13 is running on my D2 DAB including the Rockbox bootloader. Seems to work. So next weekend should be a possibility to check out the new "DR Deutschland" ensemble in Germany.
Wrzlbrnft is offline View Wrzlbrnft's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 05:59   #7
Wrzlbrnft
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 6
Default

Obviously 4.13 isn't able either to receive the national ensemble. When I took a scan yesterday in Frankfurt/Main there was the same behaviour as with 4.60b.
Wrzlbrnft is offline View Wrzlbrnft's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2011, 10:03   #8
Helli
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 132
Default

same here, none of the FW-versions for D2 / D2+ work with the new german DAB+ "Bundesmux".
I have a new C2-DMB too, it either doesnt work :-( - and my old iriver b20 does also not work.
I'm not very optimistic that cowon will release a new firmware for the bundesmux...
Helli is offline View Helli's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2011, 11:09   #9
michael1946
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: near Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 328
Thumb Up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wrzlbrnft View Post
Unfortunately the D2 DAB isn't able to receive the new 5A / 5C ensemble. When I took a scan the bar first freezed for a few seconds, but then continued without saving the new stations. I tried it in several German cities (Stuttgart, Leipzig, Düsseldorf) with firmware 4.60b.

I really hope that there will be soon a firmware update as I never had any problems to receive other DAB+ ensembles for example in Switzerland or Belgium.
According to Cowons spec of D2+ DAB (see http://www.cowon-germany.com/?page=file&id=738) DAB supports the frequency range of band III (174-240 MHz).
The frequency range of channel 5A starts at 174,16 MHz, so according to spec it should work?!
The "Bundesmux" bouquet is being transferred via channel 5C (178,352 MHz) and FW release 4.13 really should support DAB+.

Last edited by michael1946; 09-06-2011 at 08:43..
michael1946 is offline View michael1946's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 08:01   #10
Helli
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 132
Default

i wrote to Cowon Germany regarding this issue 2 weeks ago, but didnt receive any answer :-(
Helli is offline View Helli's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2012, 06:36   #11
michael1946
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: near Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 328
Default

According to Wikipedia (see http://de.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cowon) at least the D2 DAB cannot scan channels 5A and 5C because of military use of channel 5 before introduction of DAB+!
So everybody interested in getting a full DAB+ functionality in Germany should urge Cowon to provide an upgrade!!

Last edited by michael1946; 02-24-2012 at 09:46..
michael1946 is offline View michael1946's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 08:41   #12
michael1946
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: near Krefeld, Germany
Posts: 328
Thumb Up

Today I got an Email answer from Cowon service Germany:
This problem was addressed last year in Korea, but due to lack of manpower there won't be a solution for the near future.
So anybody interested in getting a solution for this fantastic device by a FW upgrade to receive channels 5A and 5C should keep urging Cowon HQ and Cowon Germany!!!
michael1946 is offline View michael1946's Photo Album   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.


Copyright © 2006-2014 CrowdGather |  About iAudiophile |  Advertisers | Investors | Legal | Contact